Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship Reviews

Posted by admin | Posted in Love | Posted on 06-10-2010-05-2008

10

Click here for "The Free , TV, Games, Radio Toolbar".

.

Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship

Do you feel like you are too nice? Sherry Argov’s Why Men Love Bitches delivers a unique perspective as to why men are attracted to a strong woman who stands up for herself. With saucy detail on every page, this no-nonsense guide reveals why a strong woman is much more desirable than a “yes woman” who routinely sacrifices herself. The author provides compelling answers to the tough questions women often ask: -Why are men so romantic in the beginning and why do they change? -Why do men take nice girls for granted? -Why does a man respect a woman when she stands up for herself? of much-needed advice, hilarious real-life relationship scenarios, “she says/he thinks” tables, and the author’s unique “Attraction Principles,” Why Men Love Bitches gives you bottom-line answers. It helps you know who you are, stand your ground, and relate to men on a whole new level. Once you’ve discovered the feisty attitude men find so magnetic, you’ll not only increase the romanti

Rating: (out of 538 reviews)

List Price: $ 15.95

Price: $ 9.37

Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper

  • Great home d¨¦cor.
  • Top quality.
  • Highly Recommended.

For the “new Love Birds” These timeless, contemporary snow white birds nestle together, interlocking their necks in an embrace, or use separately in a centerpiece. Made of glazed porcelain, these are sure to be a lasting keepsake.

Rating: (out of 22 reviews)

List Price: $ 29.98

Price: $ 29.98

Related Love Products

Click here for "The Free , TV, Games, Radio Toolbar".

VN:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Comments posted (10)

Review by for Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Rating:
As a man who read this book, I have a new understanding of how and why my last girlfriend acted the way she did. She must have read this book!I have to say, I chased after her, just like the book says a man will do if you follow the rules it describes. But, (and this is a big BUT), eventually, I got tired of chasing her. Eventually I came to the huge realization that I didn’t want to live the rest of my life this way, under her thumb, with her making all the rules for our relationship.Women have put up with men that act this way, and it drives you crazy, doesn’t it? Don’t you hate it when a guy doesn’t call and acts like other things are more important than you are? This book could just as well have been written for men, and been titled, “Why Women Love Jerks.” As I read this book, I thought that if everyone, men and women alike, followed the rules contained in it, this world would be of a lot of single people. Mainly because it’s all about one person in the relationship (in this case, women) acting aloof, not chasing men, and not showing men that they’re afraid to lose them. If both sexes acted this way, no one would get in a relationship because both would never chase the other. (In the hopes that the other one will first. It’s not going to happen!)All in all, this book seems to be written for women who have been hurt badly in the past and don’t want to be hurt (or at least show that they’re hurt) again. Anyone who has ever had the good fortune to have been in a GOOD relationship would never think of treating their mate like Sherry Argov suggests.I gave this book 2 stars, because what’s in it WILL work. But if you have to use “trickery” like this to get a man to chase you, you’ll get a relationship to match. It’s better to be honest with one another. If it doesn’t work out, then move on until you find that NICE person who will treat you right, “games” or not!

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Avalon Daughter for Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Rating:
This is such a great book that I’ve been recommending it to all of my female friends and family. It illustrates to you why your relationships current and past have failed miserably and lets you know what you’re doing wrong as well as how to approach it from a better standpoint. Basically, the author explains that women have been taught to be nurturers; A woman finds a man worth loving, showers everything and anything on them and *surprise!* they’re abandoned. Why does this happen? Because women expect men to give back what they’re giving them and it just doesn’t work that way — at least not in the beginning of any relationship — it has to be built to that point (my parents were like this after years of marriage.) This extreme generosity on womens’ parts comes across as if they’re strictly living for their man’s happiness (sometimes that’s true, too, unfortunately) and unfortunately that tells the man that they’re doormats. Plain and simple. The book explains that men want an independent woman. They don’t want a mother, a babysitter or a slave — they lose interest in them way too fast and the mystery is gone. Sounds easy enough to understand but if you read the examples and follow a few tips you’ll be very surprised with the results. For example, the old telephone bit. DON’T wait by the telephone for the guy you’re seeing. Go out, have a life outside of him and call back when it fits YOUR schedule, not his. Don’t rearrange your plans around him and most of all don’t leave all decisions up to him. I’ve had friends I’m with that when the phone rings, they ignore all their guests to go suck up to the guy they’re after on the phone. Wrong. You make time for your man when you have the time — not stopping your life.
The two things I was surprised to discover is: 1.) Women have been taught in the past that appearance is everything they need to find a man — and nothing else matters. No wonder women have been treated like doormats! If personality and ambition are ignored there’s nothing left but appearance and 2.) Women need to be taught to have a life outside of their boyfriends/mates/husbands. Women have been taught by society that they need a man to complete their lives SO MUCH that they end up desperate and it shows to the man they’re dating. Plus, it’s the reason you feel that emptiness in a relationship — you’ve lived so much for him that you forgot about yourself. It’s really sad when you realize how passive society has made women unconsciously or consciously and you need to take that back. I’ll give you an example I used: A guy who asked me out called me up and said: “Well, you can drive over here since I’m closer to where we’re going.” The passive/old me who was desperate would say: “Okay! Anything to make you happy because God forbid, I don’t want to lose you — that’s how desperate I am.” What I said instead was: “No, you asked me out so come pick me up.” Lo and behold what did he do? He picked me up. Don’t be afraid to put your foot down — of course, be cool about it, not nasty and it ALWAYS works. Making plans? Don’t drop them because he asked you out, plan around him. I have a friend who lives for her boyfriend and really could use this book but she’s so far gone that I’ve given up hope. I can’t tell you how many times she’s cancelled on me at the last second because he decided he wanted to go out at that time. Wrong. You hate when your friends do that to you and you’re disgusted with them for their attitudes — so why on earth would you do it? Besides, he’s more likely to call back when you don’t offer everything on a platter at once — including your heart; You lose mystery with him when you do that and he loses interest. Then we come to a very important chapter: If he knows you’re not putting him in a cage — he’ll try and put you in one. This is where the mother/babysitter aspect comes in. He calls the shots — with everything. What you , where you go, how you live your life and quite frankly this is where women get into relationships and suddenly realize they’re unhappy — but don’t know why. It’s because they’ve made themselves become little slaves to their men’s happiness and they’re not getting it back. In my opinion, if you’re in this kind of a relationship it’s hardly fixable but there are ways around that. Another example in the book was one woman let a man do his wash at her place and he ended up expecting her to do it all the time. He would just bring it over and not even ask. So, one time she dropped a pair of red panties in with his whites and when everything came out pink she said: “Oh, I’m just not good at this kind of thing.” What was the result? He said: “You are NEVER doing my wash again.” Problem solved. In fact, I gave this to my mother (who is a widow dating) and she was very surprised to realize how much advantage her boyfriend was taking over her. He would plan parties at HER HOUSE and she would do all the cooking and he never helped her pay for any of it. When she began to protest, he fought her on it. What ended up happening is she booted him out the door. In some instances, like I said, it’s not fixable. But, was he worth keeping? She decided “No” and she has told me she is much happier. Have a guy tell you that he wants to see you and other people? Don’t get on the floor and beg for him — tell him: “Don’t let the door hit you on the ***. I had one guy do that to me. We went out and he told me that he was going to see this girl he knew at work. So, when we were driving back to my place I said: “I understand about your needs to see other people,” and he nodded and got this smile on his face. Then I said: “So since you’re going to see someone else on Saturday I just wanted you to know that I have a date, too.” That smile melted off his face so fast I could have died laughing. What ended up happening? He was so distracted by the fact that I was going out on a date that he didn’t enjoy his at all. The VERY next morning he called immediately and asked if I wanted to go out. I hemmed and hawed and said: “Well, I’m pretty tired from last night, so no, but I can go out Monday evening.” I was showered with attention Monday. Trust me – it works. Now, in defense of some of the male postings here (which make me laugh of course) NOT ALL MEN ARE LIKE THIS. But unfortunately, there are guys out there who are. Think of this book as a great guideline to weed those out. If guys like this are playing games, the best thing to do is to play YOUR WAY. You may not end up with the right guy if you have to but your self esteem won’t be shot in the end when it’s over and that little player will have learned something. Real men DON’T play these games, but do love independence in women. The only chapter I don’t agree with would be the one on faking an orgasm once you get to an intimate point in the relationship. If you can’t be honest with your lover and are more worried about his ego then you’re setting a trap for yourself. Healthy, sexual relationships are all about honesty — each of you telling each other what you want. Neither one of you are going to figure it out eventually. That never happens. I got this info from “Mars and Venus in the Bedroom” which you can find on Amazon.com. Explain what works, what doesn’t, don’t be harsh about it and it will all fall into place. Trust me on this one. So get this book if you’ve had your heart broken too many times. Remember, not all guys are like this but you can figure out which ones are (and… have a little fun with them in the meantime *devil grin here*) Real men don’t play games with women and you’ll figure out the real men from the weasels with this book. A MUST READ for you women out there sick of the games — play them your own way! And trust me, it works!

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by L. Power for Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Rating:
Firstly, in this book BITCH means Babe In Total Control Of Herself.

She gives you priciples not ‘rules’ to transform from ignored or taken for granted doormat to relentlessly pursued dreamgirl, who is independent, strong, and not needy.

Initially, I wondered if Sherry is a guy, because she is so onto us. To her credit she did interview many men, to get these deep insights. In fact she has compiled our secret playbook.

I wonder if it is a good thing to have too many of our deep secrets in female hands, because it forces us to change our lazy relationship ways.

There is a self improvement principle – you teach people how to treat you. So do what you have always done, and get what you always got, or teach them how to treat you right.

So when Sherry suggests, acting a little aloof at first, this may seem counterintuitive, but it works. Staying out of relationship mode for a while, bypasses our natural defenses, and it works. Not giving away your personal power by being too much of a pleaser works. Communicating succinctly, I like that one.

Probably the most important lesson from this book is the importance of communication. A woman who calls a guy on his behavior, is showing several powerful things, she demonstrates higher value by not accepting bad behavior, she is not afraid to convey her feelings even if this might offend the guy, she is not timid and unassertive, she keeps the lines of communication honest, and open.

You will win some and lose some by following the advice in this book. Following this advice too rigidly will not work. It is a matter of finding a balance, and using what works for you. Think of this book as training wheels.

This book, is very good, and I probably should not recommend it but I do.

The bit about faking the orgasm, some reviewers don’t like. As Sherry is a stand up comedian, this piece is just supposed to be humorous. In reality, you are teaching the guy that is he is already good enough, whereas some improvement might be required.

Some of the anecdotal advice is funny but extreme. The booty call guy left standing in the rain outside his apartment got his just desserts, but the red panties in the laundry tactic was too much.

My personal opinion, is we men are not that smart at non verbal communication, so things need to be spelled out more.

We also have a limited capacity for processing verbal information, in fact we go into safety shut down after about 30 seconds of talking. After that point, we just nod and grunt as if we are following along. I hope you find this review helpful, and the book enjoyable.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by H. Sam for Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Rating:
This is a must read book for all those women who find themselves being treated like yesterdays meatloaf. You know, you’ll take it only if you can’t have anything better, or you may just say forget it and chuck into the garbage. The author really hits home when she talks about the male appetite for a Bitchy Woman. It’s true they do get more respect. I shared this book some friends of mine both male and female and I can’t get it back. They keep asking me, “do you mind if I let my friend check it out?” So I fiqured out what everyone is getting for Christmas this year. It truely is an instruction manual to transform a doormat to dreamgirl. It’s not always about looks. Attitude is why you see some women getting what they want while little Miss Nicey is home alone thinking “maybe if I bake these cookies just right…” As a man I say GO FOR IT LADIES! Check out the book and use the information to change your way of thinking. Heck, I’m even going to apply some of the techniques to my relationship. I hope they post this review, because I really, really enjoyed this book.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by E. Tara Scurry for Why Men Love Bitches: From Doormat to Dreamgirl – A Woman’s Guide to Holding Her Own in a Relationship
Rating:
I’ve read a lot of relationship self help books including “The Rules”. This books is excellent. This book is for those women who have, yes…been burned or who have a tendency to lose themselves in a relationship. If you’ve been with someone for years and everything is fine..then you don’t need help. If you’ve a string of great relationships then you probably don’t need this book either. Unfortunately for many women out there…they have been burned or have a tendency to bend over backwards for a man and lose their self respect for the sake of their relationship. This book is for these women. It can serve as a tool for internalizing positive messages and methods for not being conducive for trampling via feet.

Argov emphasies the time tested idea that you come first before anyone else. I’ve noticed that it is men who have given low marks to this book moreso than women. Once your read this book for yourself, you might see why. However, There are specific “tactics” she explains. It is far from trickery. And as even men have responded…her tactics work. Call them what you will, but there is little interaction between people which doesn’t involve at least a little pre-planning, special manuvering, or cunning. Is this to say that when we read books about business…that those books are terrible because they use “trickery”, manuvering and cunning to achieve company goals? Come on.

Someone else mentioned that they didn’t agree with a chapter about “faking an orgasm”. Don’t listen to that. Obviously that person did not even read the book or is not very bright because in that chapter, Argov is cleary making fun of the concept. She writes “I don’t recommend that a woman fake an orgasm. This little lesson is a satire on the pressures women feel to perform…It is much more of a turn-on to a man when a woman is able to be herself and she’s honest about what she likes and dislikes.”(71)

Finally, this book is not about playing games. Its about putting yourself first and taking responsibility for your own happiness, health, financial well-being, and rhythm. It is empowering and should be given to every woman who is having difficulty putting themself first and has a streak of nonfullfilling or short relationships (due to trying to be someone they are not or simply attracting feet).

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Melissa A. Bigenho for Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper
Rating:
I love this topper! The glazed porcelain is beautiful and I can’t wait to use these on our cake.

Not plastic-y at all, like another reviewer said. The description says that the two birds can be separated to make a centerpiece, one bird has a strangely long neck, meaning the single bird look would not look good.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Leanne Lambert for Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper
Rating:
This was the best price I could find these. They are hollow porcelain, so they will last as a keepsake and not be too heavy for the cake. I can’t wait to use them!

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Dee for Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper
Rating:
This is a really pretty topper, but I would not buy them for individual display pieces. The back bird has an extra-long neck that looks odd without the front bird as a mate. I was nervous that this would be too small, but it was exactly the size I was looking for. Beautiful!

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Mrs. Campbell for Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper
Rating:
I ordered this cake topper for my wedding cake. It was spectacular. Everyone loved the cake and the topper just completed the elegant look of the whole thing. I plan on setting this in our display case with our china.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Millissia K. Kuhlman for Weddingstar Contemporary Love Birds Cake Topper
Rating:
Arrived very quickly, was beautiful on top of our wedding cake, it now sets on the mantel to remind of us of our wedding day.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Write a comment

*

base64_decode

Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Switch to our mobile site

Get Adobe Flash player