Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series) Reviews

Posted by admin | Posted in Love | Posted on 09-10-2010-05-2008

5

Click here for "The Free , TV, Games, Radio Toolbar".

.

Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)

  • Classic DVD
  • Exclusive interviews, highlights, and behind the scenes coverage
  • DVD’s main menu allow you to jump directly to the action
  • Presented in -screen digital

A couple who have known each other since childhood and who taught each other how to play basketball reach a crossroads in their relationship.Gina Prince-Bythewood, a former college athlete, puts a spin on this one-on-one tale of Love and Basketball. Sanaa Lathan (The Best Man) is the fiercely driven, hot-tempered Monica, a tomboy who gives her all for basketball. Omar Epps (The Mod Squad) is Quincy, an NBA player’s son who has pro dreams of his own. Next-door neighbors since first grade, they start as rivals (she flabbergasts the boy by outplaying him in a game of driveway pickup) and age into best friends and lovers. The romantic complications follow a familiar game plan, but the throws a fascinating spotlight onto the contrast between men’s and women’s basketball. While Quincy plays college ball on huge courts to cheering, sold-out crowds, we see Monica’s sweat, tears, and sheer physical dedication in front of tiny audiences in small gyms and second-rate auditoriums. The story i

Rating: (out of 189 reviews)

List Price: $ 14.98

Price: $ 4.99

Related Love Products

Click here for "The Free , TV, Games, Radio Toolbar".

VN:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Comments posted (5)

Review by Shazzar Kallie for Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)
Rating:
I first saw Love & Basketball at the premiere of the with all the stars. It was a special viewing where there was almost not a dry eye at the end of the from tears of joy. I think you cannot get a better chemistry of on screen love then Omar Epps and Sanaa Lathan. I guess the was their destiny, because last I heard they were engaged to be married in real life. The is simply a beautiful epic that combines a little bit of everthing from drama, comedy, action and romance. You not only care about the characters in this , you actually see them grow up on screen.Love & Basketball is definitely one of my all-time favorite . It seemed so realistic as if it was a true story, and I myself being a USC graduate and former Trojan athlete from the area the is set in can attest that the is very realistic and true to the story being told. This is about the true undying love of two things: the love of basketball which sees both characters in their pre-teen days on the basketball court to their days of both being professional basketball players in the hometown. It’s also about the true love between a man and a woman that had to evolve and elevate just like their basketball skills had to succeed. “All is fair in love and basketball”!The DVD version of this is a true treasure. I love every bit of it and it gives the viewer their money’s worth. The producers of this DVD out did their self with giving the view a whole complete vision of what they expressed on the screen. The two original documentaries: “The Rise Of Female Athletes” and “The Portrayal Of African-American Women By The American Media” are outstanding and really conveys the point of view the writer/director Gina Prince-Bythewood experienced herself as a basketball player. Plus, the deleted scenes and bloopers, three feature length commentaries, storyboards, and of Lucy Pearl’s hit are a treat! One thing I truly loved as a screen writer was the whole screen play of the on the DVD. This not only helped me understand the more, but also helped me as a screen writer as well.Love & Basketball is definitely a classic! I loved this when I first saw it, and I still love it today, maybe even more because of the outstanding DVD version of it. This makes you believe in the power of Love and Basketball!

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Lawyeraau for Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)
Rating:
I bought this DVD for my daughter who happens to play Division 1 college basketball. I didn’t know anything about it, other than it was a love story between two basketball players. When I watched the , I was completely blown away by it. It is one terrific, quality . The director outdid herself, as did the actors, with strong performances from the entire cast.It is, as the director suggests, a love story with basketball as a backdrop. Two kids, one boy, one girl, meet when the girl, Monica, moves next door to the boy, Quincy. They are about ten years old and both play basketball with a passion. They grow up together and both play basketball in high school. In their senior year, they realize that they are in love and they give themselves to each other, heart and soul.They are fortunate enough to be recruited to play for the same college, but the contrast between their respective reception is telling. They both do their best and are passionate about basket ball and each other. There comes a time, however, when their love is tested, and they are pulled apart by forces which they lack the maturity to understand. What follows is a test of their love and commitment. This is a beautifully told love story. The depth of passion that the two main characters have, both for basketball and for each other, is palpable throughout the entire . The is engrossing at all times and is wonderfully directed.The DVD itself has a plethora of features, including an absorbing documentary of successful women from all walks of life who have managed to break the glass ceiling. This is certainly a DVD well worth having.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Hannibal for Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)
Rating:
Quite surprisingly, the Spike Lee-produced released Love & Basketball is an excellent . It may have a note of corniness during some scenes, but that doesn’t stop it from being one of the best sleeper hits of 2000. The ’s drama is great and the romance has brilliant chemistry and all the elements stick nicely together thanks to the acting – particularly from amazing newcomer Sanaa Lathan – and Gina Price’s clean direction. The scenes I thought were particularly nail-biting were the basketball matches between the two lead characters, the final one-on-one is tense and unpredictable. Also seeing Monica’s (Lathan) thoughts when playing basketball was clever and original. All the characters have a good-bad side them, you relate to them, which make these similar but totally different (you’ll understand after viewing) creations the best about the . Come to think of it, this shouldn’t have the title Love & Basketball. It should have the title Love, Basketball, Family, Gender Roles, , Cheating… and so forth and so forth. This deals with so many things in such a great style that the viewer should know just how great its going to be so they don’t get literally blown away! A definite recommendation.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Pamela D. Grant for Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)
Rating:
This is an extraordinary . If you think women do not know how to play tough, then you really need to this . Love and Basketball is an excellent portaryl of how women can deal with love, a broken heart, family issues, peer pressure and still make a living and play the game of basketball with all heart. I recommend the purchase of this DVD to all basketball fans and to those who love a good love story.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Review by Michelle for Love and Basketball (New Line Platinum Series)
Rating:
I began my athletic career at the ripe old age of five, and haven’t looked back. This made me cry, it made me remember my hoop days of high school and college, and it made me appreciate the experiences I had as a baller. This accomplished more for explaining the trials and inequality of being a female athlete than anything I’ve ever seen. And to top it off, they added in a beautiful love story. I would recommend this for female athletes (it “feels” us!) and any other person who’s never really “gotten” the sports vibe…maybe this will help.

VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
VA:F [1.9.21_1169]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Write a comment

*

base64_decode

Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Switch to our mobile site

Get Adobe Flash player